Liens/Personal Property

Below you will find the laws and forms regarding Leins and personal property in the State of Kentucky.

Liens/Personal Property

Pursuant to KRS 186A.190, "the perfection and discharge of a security interest in any property which has been issued a Kentucky certificate of title shall be by notation on the certificate of title." The County Clerk handles the issuance of all title lien statements.

 

Title Lien Statements

The following must be titled in the county in which the property is located:
-Motor Vehicles (see Titles page);
-Manufactured (or mobile) home or trailer; and
-Motorboats.

To record a lien on any of the above, a title lien statement must be filed. You can view and print a copy of a title lien statement here. The following is required to obtain a title lien statement:
-Name(s) of the debtor(s) and their address(es);
-Name of secured party (the person or Bank lending money) & their mailing address;
-Description of collateral (year, make, VIN); and
-Title or goldenrod copy of registration if a pending lien has been filed.

A title lien is usually filed in the county of the debtor's residence if an individual (the county of the principal headquarters if a business ) or the county in which the titled property is principally used, if the individual does not reside (or business is not located) in Kentucky.

Title Lien Statements have a statute of limitations of 7 years for vehicles and 30 years for mobile homes. In order to request a continuation, a continuation statement must be filed within the six month period prior to expiration

 

Liens on Boats

Liens on boats are filed in the same manner as liens on vehicles. If the boat has a full inboard motor, inboard/outboard, or full outboard motor, a separate title lien statement is filed on the boat and trailer. A filing fee is paid for each title lien statement.

To record a lien on a boat, a title lien statement must be filed. You can view and print a copy of a title lien statement here. The following is required to obtain a title lien statement:
-Name(s) of the debtor(s) and their address(es);
-Name of secured party (the person or Bank lending money) & their mailing address;
-Description of collateral (year, make, VIN); and
-Title or goldenrod copy of registration if a pending lien has been filed.

 

Transfer of Ownership

Transfer of ownership is prohibited until all existing lien notations are terminated in writing by the secured party of record. This termination must be filed in the county in which the lien was filed.

 

Repossessions

Any repossession transaction must be processed in the county in which the lien was recorded. The following is required for repossession:
-Affidavit of Repossession (form TC96-192);
-Termination Statement (see below); and
-Application for Title/Registration (form TC-96-182).

 
 

The secured party must file a termination statement within ten days after the loan is paid in full in the county in which the lien was originally filed. The clerk will note the termination in the County records within five days and enter it into the statewide vehicle registration system.

Termination Statement

Filing Fees

Title Lien Statement                                              $46.00

Late Fee (if not recorded within 15 days)   $2.00

Amendment                                                           $46.00

Assignment                                                            $46.00

Termination Statement                                        No Fee

Continuation Statement                                      No Fee

 

UCC Filings

 

All new UCC filings must be filed with the Kentucky Secretary of State, with the exception of title liens, fixture filings, Timber (to be cut), and minerals (to be extracted). Any questions concerning other new UCC filings should be submitted to the Secretary of State's Office by phone (502) 573-0265 or online at www.sos.ky.gov

Any fixture filing, or filing on timber to be cut or minerals to be extracted must be filed in the real property records of the clerk's office and must contain a reasonable description of the real estate.

A UCC filing must have the name and address of the debtor and must identify the debtor as an individual or organization. A UCC filing must also include the name and address of the lender (secured party).

UCC Filing Fees

 

 

UCC Fixture Filing                                                         $96.00

Late Fee                                                                         $2.00

Amendment                                                                 $46.00

Amendment of Assignment                                  $46.00

Amendment of Continuation                                $46.00

Amendment of Termination Fee included in original filing fee

Amendment of Partial Release                           $46.00

Greenup County Clerk

Pat Hieneman Clerk

Branches

Courthouse - Main Office

301 Main St 

Greenup, KY. 41144

606-473-7394

606-473-5354(Fax)

Hours Of Operation:

Monday-Friday

9:00am-4:30pm

Saturday

 9:00am-12:00pm 1st & 3rd Saturday only

South Shore Branch

69 Narco Drive

South Shore, KY. 41175

606-932-6564

606-932-3691(Fax)

Hours Of Operation:

Monday-Friday

9:00am-4:30pm

(Closed for lunch, 12pm-1pm)

The Main Office will be closed on Saturdays until further notice.

Flatwoods Branch

2513 Reed St. Suite 3

Flatwoods, KY. 41139

606-836-1944

606-836-1444(Fax)

Hours Of Operation:

Monday-Friday

9:00am-4:30pm

Mailing Address

Pat Hieneman

Greenup County Clerk

PO Box 686

Greenup, KY. 41144

606-473-7394

Email: patricia.hieneman@ky.gov

We accept the following forms of payment: Cash, Check (In-State), Money Order, Visa, MasterCard, and Discover Card.

© 2019 by Pat Hieneman Greenup County Clerk

Webmaster: Tech Wizard Computers

  • Facebook