Below you will find the laws and forms regarding Marriage Licenses in the State of Kentucky
Marriage licenses are issued in the Courthouse office and both parties must appear together. The license is valid for 30 days from the date of issue and the license fee is non-refundable. The license can only be used within the Commonwealth of Kentucky.
Both parties must be 18 years of age or older to be issued a license. Applicants 17 years old must have an order from the Family Court or District Court allowing the license to issued. No one under the age of 17 may be issued a license.
There is no waiting period or blood test required prior to the issuance of a marriage license. Both parties must provide the following:
-Name & address;
-Date of birth & age;
-Place of birth (if inside Kentucky, give county; if in another state, give state);
-Mother's first and maiden name;
-Current marital status (e.g. Single, Divorced, Annulled, Widowed);
-Number of previous marriages;
-Description of relation of bride and groom, if any (first and second cousins cannot marry in the Commonwealth of Kentucky);
-Date of marriage.
To apply, submit the Application for Marriage License to the Greenup office of the County Clerk in person. The party must pay a $50.00 application fee.