Below you will find the laws and forms regarding Notary Public in the State of Kentucky.
A notary public is appointed by the Kentucky Secretary of State to witness the signing of important documents and administer oaths. Notaries serve to deter fraud and to ensure that documents are properly executed. A notary public is not authorized to practice law, provide legal advice, prepare legal documents, or charge a fee for preparation of immigration documents.
There are two separate commissions for notary public:
-A Special Commission Notary is a resident or nonresident of Kentucky who is appointed by the governor to perform notarial acts inside or outside of this state covering documents to be recorded only within the state.
-A Notary Public State-At-Large is a resident or nonresident of Kentucky who is appointed to perform notarial acts within the state of Kentucky, and these documents can go to other states for recording.
Notary public commissions are valid for four (4) years. Prospective notaries must apply with the Secretary of State's office and meet the following requirements:
-18 years or older;
-Resident of county;
-Good moral character;
-Capable of discharging the duties of their office; and
-Cannot be convicted felon.
Applicants must complete an application form (click here for special commission application, click here for state-at-large application) and submit it it to the Kentucky Secretary of State at Notary Commissions; PO Box 821; Frankfort, KY 40602. A $10.00 state fee must accompany the application. The application must also include the signature of the Judge Executive, County Clerk, Circuit Clerk, Justice of the Peace, or a member of the General Assembly of the county of residence of the applicant.
If the application is approved, the Secretary of State's office will notify the applicant that a "Certificate of Appointment" has been sent to the County Clerk's office. The applicant must come to the Courthouse office to take the oath of office and post bond. Bond is $1,000 and may be an insurance policy bond or a property owner can be the surety. The property owner must come to the clerk's office to sign for the applicant. A husband and wife cannot sign a surety bond for each other. A recording fee of $19.00 will be assessed.